of the British Empire and in foreign countries, as well as any suggested changes in the labour laws of Ontario. The representatives of the Department of Labour have right of access to offices, factories and other work places at any reasonable hour, and may be authorized to hold inquiries under the Public Inquiries Act. The Department publishes annual reports which cover the work of the officers employed in the administration of the various Acts assigned to it.

Manitoba Department of Labour.—The Act of 1915, establishing the Manitoba Bureau of Labour, provided that it be attached to the Department of Public Works; an amendment of 1922, however, provided for its attachment to any other Department as the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may determine. The Bureau was created a separate Department by c. 28 of the Statutes of Manitoba, 1931, but the Act was not proclaimed until July 6, 1934.

The Department is charged with the administration of the following Acts: the Bureau of Labour Act; the Manitoba Factories Act; the Bake Shop Act; the Shops Regulation Act; the Minimum Wage Act; the Elevator and Hoist Act; the Steam Boiler Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Public Buildings Act; the Fair Wage Act; the Electricians' Licence Act; the Amusements Act (Secs. 11 to 15); the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Employment Bureau Act.

The Bureau of Labour and Fires Prevention Branch is a sub-department of the Department of Labour (formerly a sub-department of the Department of Public Works). The Bureau also enforces the Fires Prevention Act.

Saskatchewan Bureau of Labour and Public Welfare.—This Bureau was created by an Act of 1934 to replace the Department of Railways, Labour and Industries. It is administered by the Minister of Municipal Affairs, assisted by a permanent Commissioner. The function of the Bureau is to administer matters relating to the relief of distress in addition to the following Acts: the Factories Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Employment Agencies Act; the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Weekly Half-Holiday Act; the Minimum Wage Act, and Workmen's Wage Act. It is also charged with the operation of public free employment offices; the collection and publication of information and statistics relating to employment; wages and hours of labour throughout the province; strikes and other labour difficulties; trade unions and labour organizations; the relations between capital and labour, and other subjects connected with industrial problems; the commercial, industrial and sanitary conditions of employment.

Alberta Bureau of Labour.—The Act of 1922, creating the Alberta Bureau of Labour, became inoperative during 1936. The administration of the Alberta Government Employment Offices Act has been transferred to the Department of Health, while the administration of the Minimum Wage Act, the Boilers Act, the Factories Act, the Theatres Act, the Trade Schools Act, and the Industrial Standards Act has been transferred to the Department of Trade and Industry.

The British Columbia Department of Labour.—This Department was instituted by an Act of 1917, under a Minister and Deputy Minister of Labour. It administers the laws of British Columbia affecting labour, and is empowered to collect information respecting industries, wages, employment, prices, labour organizations, and other data pertaining to labour problems. Prominent among the Acts administered by the Department are: the Male Minimum Wage Act 1934; the Female Minimum Wage Act 1934; the Hours of Work Act 1934; these are administered by the Board of Industrial Relations, the Deputy Minister of Labour being Chairman of the Board. Other activities of the Department include the adminis-